Skip to main content
HomeAbout Us

Optical Society of North Texas

The Optical Society of North Texas, Inc was formed in 2019 to provide a point of contact in the North Texas area for activities that involve optics. We are based in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, which includes many cities spread over a large region (DFW). The OSNTX is a Local Section of Optica, which was called the Optical Society of America until September 2021, and it is a scientific society that was originally formed in 1916.

People are encouraged to join both the national Optica organization and the OSNTX, but activities are generally open to anyone who is interested (though the website will have additional sections that are only accessible to members). The local society is gradually getting going, and any suggestions for how to proceed are welcome. The rapid adoption of web meetings may provide new options for how a local organization can function. 

The following approach is currently being taken: 
  • An annual membership year will run from September to August
  • The membership dues for the local section are $10 per year, with the coming year lasting from now to the end of August 2022. This is separate to membership of Optica (formerly the Optical Society of America), and it will be used to establish and run the local section, including the cost of running this website
  • Corporate sponsorship supporting the OSNTX is $100 per year from now to the end of August 2022. This does not include OSNTX membership dues for employees. A Corporate logo and description, and a link to the Corporate website, will be added to this website.


Current Officers through August 2020:
President Vice President Treasurer Secretary
Michael Simpson Nelson Claytor Kat Short-Smith Michael Vasilyev
Simpson Optics LLC Fresnel Technologies II-VI UTArlington                   

The Optical Society of North Texas, Inc is registered in Texas as a Domestic Nonprofit Corporation (#803457608).